To Follow or Not to Follow…..

Posted on January 13, 2010. Filed under: Discussion Posts | Tags: |

That is the question.  When I was blogging over on blogger they have this “nifty cool” feature commonly known as Followers.  At first I LOVED the followers feature….The higher the number got the happier I was.  THEN I started realizing something…..That only a handful (and a VERY small handful at that) were commenting on my blog.  I think I was getting close to 60 followers and still only the same few blogger would comment.  That is when I started HATING the follower widget. It started to affect my confidence (book blogging wise anyway) and was one of the contributing reasons I decided to move to wordpress (NO Follower Widget).

Some might say “hey just take the widget off your blog,” for me it doesn’t work that way.  The follower widget almost became like a drug to me.  I needed more….The more I had the more “powerful” I felt. I could take it away but it was always there to try to get me to come back.  Also, when you log into your Blogger account it tells you how many followers you have even if you DON’T have the widget.

So I moved to WordPress…No Follower widget = a much happier me (book blogging wise anyway).  I added all the blogs that I was following on Blogger (and then some) to my Google reader and I try like heck to comment as often as possible on as many as possible (I am only able to comment on my days off of work).

Now here is my question(s) for all the readers out there:

How do you feel about the Follower widget? What makes you want to follow a blog? Has anyone ever had a something similar to what happened to me happen to them, how did that make you feel? Anyone ever feel intimitdated by the number of followers a blog has? Do you use the follower widget on your blog?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “To Follow or Not to Follow…..”

RSS Feed for Confessions of a Book Junkie Comments RSS Feed

i do think that the follow widget is a diversion–we should be focusing on our writing and reviews, not a numbers contest. that said, i enjoy watching my roster grow 🙂 Jen

a blogger has to earn my respect. when i first follow you, i just click the button. but i don’t actually read the blog at first. let’s say i’ve read all my other blogs for the day and i have some spare time. i’ll go through the blogs i “follow” but don’t keep up with. if i see a blog that impresses me (for one reason or another) i’ll move it to my “favorites” section. i try to comment on every post i read, since sometimes i just skim. because you’re right–comments make people happy 😀

I try to follow blogs I like, but I am certain I follow far more than I can possibly visit. I adore email subscriptions, since that and my blog roll is how I mainly read posts. I never log into Google reader, it is too difficult for me to read online.

FAB question.

1. I love seeing a high number of followers. At first it would get me down that some people had more than me but I would rather have a smaller number of followers who always comment than a huge number that never comment. Some of the biggest bloggers have a huge number of followers and only a minimal amount of comments.

2. The way I look at it is this: just because people follow the blog doesn’t mean they read every post. It just means they find me interesting enough to mark my blog for later possible reading.

3. I use my followers tab to check out the blogs of the people who are following me. If they have a really cool blog I follow them too. If they comment allot I make sure to place them in my favorites file in my Google Reader and comment on their blog allot. I look at it as “sharing the love”.

4. In the end its a ratio thing. I would say 1 in 10 comment.

5. Love the new layout 🙂

What can I say… you silly woman! You are not suppose to let it affect you that way!!

How do I feel about the follower widget? Fun! Useful. I have no illusions about the statics it gives or the followers I have. I know a lot of them are not really real. But, if they declare themselves a follower even though the profile they are using is a dummy, I wouldn’t question them. I let it be. That is the curse or beauty of the internet. That is internet for you!

I like the follower feature because it automatically dumps rss feeds into my google reader and I can keep track of all the blogs I follow. I find that very useful!

How thought-provoking! I look at the follower thing this way – a substantial number might persuade a publisher to provide me with a review copy. That’s my main purpose in having the widget there. So if a publisher checks my blog out, they can verify the numbers.

I watch the number. I like to see it go up. It’s silly, I know. But I think of it as a motivator. I want to make sure my blog is giving my readers what they want. I try to comment as much as I can but I have to admit I’m more of a lurker. I follow more blogs than I can keep up with.

I’m just starting out with the blog thing, so I’m a little bit addicted to the follow feature. I check it all the time, and I have 20 followers on one and 13 on the other. Although, I have to admit, I do not post a lot and my blog is not filled with a lot of cool stuff (yet). I still do find myself checking daily if I picked up another follower.

As for the comments, they are hard to find when you have no followers, LOL. The tough part is when you have a discussion and no one responds. You think to yourself, “Should I take the discussion down?”

As for following others, I am following so many people right now that I KNOW that I am not reading everything. But, I still follow them just in case and respond when I can. There are so many terrific blogs out there (yours being one of them). Love the new layout.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

